New Releases

Cooking Vegetarian with TOLSTOY!

October 20, 2016

tolstoy-a-vegetarians-tale_book-cover2

This delightful new addition to the “cookbook memoir” genre covers the later years of world-renowned author Leo Tolstoy and his conversion to vegetarianism.  The recipes in the book were preserved in the Tolstoy family “Cookery Book” and are reprinted here both in their original, colloquial versions and in updated versions with step-by-step directions for the modern cook.

LEO TOLSTOY:  A VEGETARIAN’S TALE is perfect for vegetarians, Tolstoy fans and anyone looking for an elegant and unique dinner party theme.  The book is available in both print and Kindle editions.

It’s a cookbook unlike any other — part memoir, part recipe book,  LEO TOLSTOY: A VEGETARIAN’S TALE.  Exploring the mid-life conversion to vegetarianism of one of the world’s most famous authors, this charming book, which invites readers to step back in time and dine on the family recipes of Tolstoy, the author of War and Peace and Anna Karenina as well as one of the world’s most preeminent vegetarians, is now available in e-book and in print, just in time for holiday gift-giving.

More than 100 years after his death, Leo Tolstoy’s novels continue to captivate readers with their fresh and modern attitude towards personal and national morals and ethics.  Tolstoy’s personal life was a constant pursuit of respect and kindness towards both humans and animals. To that end, he eventually adopted a vegetarian lifestyle, feeling that it was wrong to ask animals to sacrifice their lives for the sake of his dinner. However, he still insisted that his household find ways to prepare delicious and satisfying meals without using meat.

Tolstoy’s wife Sophia Andreevna collaborated with her kitchen staff to create recipes that would satisfy Tolstoy and their family and friends. Eventually, Stepan Andreevich Bers, Sophia’s brother, collected and published her recipes in a private “Cookery Book” as a gift to her.  LEO TOLSTOY: A VEGETARIAN’S TALE features Sophia’s original recipes updated for modern cooks as well as personal anecdotes and delightful illustrations of Tolstoy’s life.

Those who purchase the E-Book version will find it equipped with hyperlinks, which will take readers to passages in Tolstoy’s books where those dishes are referenced.

This is a book that will appeal to fans of Tolstoy and Russian literature as well as those who follow or wish to explore a vegetarian lifestyle.  You can grab this delightful cookbook here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge